Print Thread
Radishes #939
02/28/2013 02:55 PM
02/28/2013 02:55 PM
Warren County Indiana
Gopher Hill Offline OP
Gopher Hill  Offline OP
Warren County Indiana
Hi guys. I haven't posted in a while, but always lurking. I want feedback on planting radishes in Aug/Sep timeframe.

I am a farmer and all the new fad is planting a covercrop in the fall, especially radishes or what some call tillage radish. Farmers are going so far as hiring airplanes to sow the seed over standing corn and beans so that they get good growth while the weather is warm. I have been to farm meetings that expound all the virtues of radishes to increase corn and bean yields by way of breaking up soil compaction and scavenging nitrogen. They have lots of supportive information.

I'm all for higher yields and making more money, but what I really want to know is if the deer will come out to eat them. Most of my farmer/friends are brown and down guys and don't go in for habitat and food plots. I, however view deer hunting as a year around hobby and has almost become a way of life (supported by my lovely wife I must say). I can't find much info on the subject online. Radishes are either for cover crop on ag websites or they are grown in a small remote food plot by deer hunters. Why can't I have both. I have one paticular field that is 110 acres that butts up to my families woods and our prime hunting ground. I'm seriously considering putting the whole field into radishes this Labor Day.

Have any of you folks had experience with lots of acres of radishes from a deer hunters viewpoint?

Re: Radishes #940
02/28/2013 05:29 PM
02/28/2013 05:29 PM
Indiana
H
Hunt N Nut Offline
Hunt N Nut  Offline
H
Indiana