Richmond (Webster)
B
bean Offline OP
Hoosier Hunter
bean  Offline OP
Hoosier Hunter
B
Richmond (Webster)
I have permission to plant a little more to an already established plot. I have about 1 1/2 - 2 acres to plant and 1/2 that is in clover and chickory already.

I am wanted a late season attractant for the new part. I have tried turnips there w/ no real success. Any ideas?

I am getting ready to spray and kill it and will plant in August time frame. I have little to no big equipment that is needed for some plot work. I can access my garden tractor there and could use a small disc and I can drag it as well.

Thoughts? Idea's? Experiences?

Fishing and honeybee time
Re: Fall/Winter plot #37506
07/02/2013 01:38 AM
07/02/2013 01:38 AM
N.E. Indiana, Spitting distanc...
hornharvester Offline
Hoosier Hunter
hornharvester  Offline
Hoosier Hunter
I'd plant winter wheat. Ive been planting food plots for over 10 years and if I could only plant one thing it would be winter wheat.

Don't plant it until mid to late Sept. Up north we have a no fly time of Sept 25 when the flies that attack winter wheat are gone. Check will your local ag dealer and see when the date is for your area.

I usually plant winter wheat and turnips, one next to the other and that makes my plot good up into late January or early Feb.

I suggest you buy your wheat early as possible because once farmers start buying it sometimes wheat gets hard to find. You can use ben run wheat but make sure its cleaned or you will get unwanted weeds. Use plenty of fertilizer about 300 lbs per acre.

[Linked Image]

This plot is from a couple years ago, first clover, then turnips and far is winter wheat. When the deer came they would usually eat some wheat first, then eat clover or turnips but wheat was usually their first choice. Good luck, h.h.

If you're not a hemorrhoid, get off my butt.
Re: Fall/Winter plot #37507
07/02/2013 10:08 AM
07/02/2013 10:08 AM
Richmond (Webster)
B
bean Offline OP
Hoosier Hunter