Tipton County
F
familytradition Offline OP
Hoosier Hunter
familytradition  Offline OP
Hoosier Hunter
F
Tipton County
I would like hear everyone's opinion on IDNR's success. In Hamilton and Tipton counties in the past year I have seen several mink, an otter, a bald eagle, several woodcock, and found a turkey carcass. I hear bobcat and badger populations are up. While all of these are great to see, my deer sightings are down, there are zero quail, hardly any rabbits, and no grouse or pheasants. How can they claim success when economically important animals are declining while non-game animals seem to be going fine. Without selling licenses, they will have no money. I'm a scientist by training and I am just not seeing a healthy ecosystem. I see water based species and mature timber species thriving while new growth species declining. I think they are failing Hoosiers. Thoughts?

Re: Wildlife #37472
03/24/2013 01:10 PM
03/24/2013 01:10 PM
Indianapois, IN, USA
D
delaney Offline
Hoosier Hunter
delaney  Offline
Hoosier Hunter
D
Indianapois, IN, USA
I don't think the IDNR is failing at all.

Quail, rabbits, pheasants and even grouse - habitat is the key and the IDNR can do little if anything about it. Simply can't be the IDNR's fault.

Other species - the IDNR I believe has done a very good job promoting and reintroducing other species that once roamed Indiana and in doing so I believe have done an excellent job in that sense. But again habitat is the key and many of the species you speak to continue to have reasonably good habitat or habitat corridors that enable them to prosper and spread.