Home

rabbit dog killing rabbits

Posted By: psearchery

rabbit dog killing rabbits - 02/07/2013 08:06 PM

I am new to hunting with dogs. My cousin recently just got a dog and we have ran it a few times. This dog has killed three rabbits that were missed by the shooter and even brings them back. Is this a good or bad thing? I'm kinda stuck on this one I know its his job to Chase the rabbit but killing them after missed has thrown me off. Any help is appreciated
Posted By: gundude

Re: rabbit dog killing rabbits - 02/07/2013 09:18 PM

How do you know the shots were a clean miss?
Posted By: hornharvester

Re: rabbit dog killing rabbits - 02/07/2013 10:16 PM

If the dog is killing them, then you didnt miss. Very few rabbit dogs can run down a rabbit unless the rabbit is wounded or sick. h.h.

Re: rabbit dog killing rabbits - 02/07/2013 10:33 PM

I have skinned all of these rabbits and no buckshot in them whatsoever.
Posted By: bean

Re: rabbit dog killing rabbits - 02/07/2013 10:39 PM

Don't miss smile Sorry couldn't help it. I know nothing to help you but it sounds to me like the dog is doing a good job and I don't know of any rabbit dog that would not kill a rabbit if it caught it. It is breed to get them not point.

Re: rabbit dog killing rabbits - 02/07/2013 10:45 PM

Bean since it is my cousins dog he is the only one shooting so its him not me. I'm just the guy that walks around looking goofy without a weapon.
Posted By: bean

Re: rabbit dog killing rabbits - 02/07/2013 10:49 PM

haha I was just messin anyway. I am sure guys will jump in and answer what you need.

Re: rabbit dog killing rabbits - 02/07/2013 10:56 PM

I know you were. I agree with everyone that the dog shouldnt catch up to the rabbit but I witnessed this dog run up grab it break its neck and bring it back.

Re: rabbit dog killing rabbits - 02/08/2013 07:40 AM

Does he wanna sell it?lol

Re: rabbit dog killing rabbits - 02/08/2013 08:35 AM