Home

.32 cal cva squirrel rifle

Posted By: deerhunter986

.32 cal cva squirrel rifle - 01/16/2017 06:35 PM

Well after this gun was passed on to me almost 18 years ago I finally shot it this weekend. .315 round ball 20gr of pyrodex and a cut up tshirt I "lubed" with vegetable oil, read this on a site some guys do this that make their on patches, not really as accurate as I thought to be but I think my patch is to thin cause all I found had burn holes around the ball. Find a thicker tshirt and mess with powder charge might be in buisness
Posted By: hornharvester

Re: .32 cal cva squirrel rifle - 01/16/2017 06:56 PM

Cheap patch and lube is old pillow ticking, jeans or any tight woven cotton cloth cut into squares and rubbed with crisco veg shortening. A simple spit patch will work too. h.h.

Re: .32 cal cva squirrel rifle - 01/16/2017 07:33 PM

HH I read that denim usually to thick and don't work that well but that is what I read I have no experience with these sidelocks. Dad told me they had some kind of patching that was strip and they started ball and cut off with knife is what I was doin. Think I might try the jeans this week. Here is a pic of my group center punch was a fluke I believe
[Linked Image]

Re: .32 cal cva squirrel rifle - 01/17/2017 08:09 AM

Denim is tight for sure, an old flannel shirt will make good patches or go to Walmart and buy a yard of pillow ticking, wash it and then cut into strips, cut at the muzzle like you were doing. I like mink oil for patches and conical but Crisco veg shortening works good. Recovered pillow tickin /Mink oil patches out of my .54 look good enough to shoot again. A spit patch works real good also. When you get the load right and can hit a squirrel's eye at 25 yards you're ready for the woods. wink h.h.
Posted By: parson

Re: .32 cal cva squirrel rifle - 01/17/2017 09:24 AM